Confessions of a Military Sister

Confessions of a Military Sister

Ok, this is the third time I’ve tried writing this. Let’s see if I can actually finish it this time.

It has been an incredibly emotional couple of months. It seems like just yesterday Trey told us he was joining the Marines, and now he has already been gone two weeks.

I’d be lying if I told you I haven’t been a bit of a wreck lately. I’m really good at hiding my feelings, and as long as I don’t talk about it too much I seem to be OK. But I really miss my baby brother. March cannot come soon enough.

I just sent him my first letter. Talk about awkward. Trey is a boy of few words. I can just imagine him reading my letter and thinking, “Yep. Ok. Uh-huh. Miss you too. Bye.” I just really don’t know what to write. I have been putting it off in fear of upsetting him. The last two weeks before he left, it really seemed to be hitting him that he was going, and I’m just hoping and praying he’s not absolutely hating it. I ended up telling him about how my dog is getting extremely fat and misses him lots. Maybe at least Trey will giggle at that a little.

So I’ll keep this post short and sweet. But I want to know- what on Earth do you write in a letter to someone at boot camp? Do you talk about yourself? Ask about them? Keep telling stupid stories about how your puptato needs to go on a diet?

If you’ve written letters to a loved one in the military, leave a comment and let me know what you sent them. If you’ve ever been in the military, tell me what you loved to hear!

In the meantime, I’ll just keep reminding my kiddo how much I love and miss him. I hope he knows how proud we all are of him.

 

Leave a comment